Borden Village FC

Match Report

Match Report - 28 Mar 2009, Borden Village FC 1st XI beat AFC SEVENOAKS

Borden picked up 3 valuable points against a strong Sevenoaks side who were well placed in the table Borden had to make a last minute change when captain Mark Barker failed a last minute fitness test, and with Alan Whitehead unavailable, manager Knocker Williams called up Scott Teague and Dan Hudson from the reserves, and changed his formation to 3 up front The move paid off as straight from the whistle Borden were out of the starting blocks launching a series of attacks on the home side Borden began to create opportunities and went in front after 20 mins when a good interchange of passes saw Scott Forster deliver a fine ball across the face of the goal and Scott Teague slid in at the far post to give the villagers a well deserved lead Sevenoaks came back strongly but resolute defending by Lee Sayer,James Beech and Chris Feliniak kept the home team at bay After the break there was little change and with Borden’s Scott Teague and Marc Greene working tirelessly in mid field they started playing their best football for some time With 20 mins remaining their hard work was rewarded when, following a defensive mix up by the home side, the ball broke loose on the edge of the box and leading scorer Scott Forster skilfully fired a low shot into the bottom corner Sevenoaks never gave up and it was now Bordens turn to weather a late come back effort and their keeper Charlie Donoghue pulled off two fine saves in his quest to keep a clean sheet Afterwards a delighted Knocker Williams said this win has been long overdue and has given the boys the confidence that they need to go into next weeks local derby against Swale United knowing that they are capable of getting a result!

AFC SEVENOAKS 0 - 2 Borden Village FC 1st XI ()

Name Goals Details
1 Scott Forster   1
2 James Beech  
3 Chris Feliniak  Chris  Feliniak Yellow card
4 Marc Greene  
5 Phillip Jackson  
6 Jamie Kurzsewski  
7 Micheal Rose  Micheal Rose Yellow card
8 Lee Sayer  
9 Charlie Donoghue  
10 Daniel Hudson  
11 Scott Teague   1
12 Clive Bennett   not used
13 James Malley   on for P. Jackson
14 Mark Barker   not used