Borden Village FC

Match Report

Match Report - 18 Oct 2008, Borden Village FC 1st XI beat Tenterden Town

Borden gained a morale boosting first of the season victory in this Vandanel Kent County League Les Leckie Cup first round tie. After some good performances with no reward in previous matches, Tenterden were made to suffer as Scott Forster hit a hat trick during a first half when eight goals were scored.

Early play was fairly even with keeper Michael Neat making a couple of good saves but Borden struck first after quarter of an hour when Forster scored his first with a low drive from an angle following a good pass from Adam Warren. Warren had the ball in the net two minutes later but it was disallowed for offside. Within a few minutes Alan Whitehead increased the home teams advantage when he brilliantly brought a Lee Sayer free kick down and turned to hit home from twelve yards. However within the next five minutes poor defending resulted in the visitors scoring twice to bring the scores level. Five minutes later Forster scored his second to give Borden the lead after the keeper made a mess of a clearance. Borden were now in charge and scored a further three goals in a two minute spell just before half time to lead 6-2 at the break. Forster completed his hat trick following a superb through ball from Christian Marsh and skipper Mark Barker scored twice, the first with a header from a Forster corner and the second with a magnificent 25 yard shot into the top corner.

The second half was a more even affair with Borden increasing their lead after 55 minutes when Marsh headed home from close range after good work by Whitehead. Both sides created chances but Borden finished the game strongly to record a confidence boosting victory.

Next Saturday Borden return to league action with a short trip to Swale United for a local derby.

Borden Village FC 1st XI 7 - 2 Tenterden Town ()

Name Goals Details
1 Scott Forster   3
2 Mark Barker   2
3 Nick Fuller  
4 Marc Greene  
5 Phillip Jackson  
6 Michael Neat  
7 Lee Sayer  
8 Adam Warren  
9 Allan Whitehead   1
10 James Beech  
11 Christian Marsh   1
12 Chris Feliniak  
13 Antony Goold  
14 Jimmy Lee  
15 Daniel J Hudson